London gangsters evaluation

For this unit we looked at the works of Quentin Tarantino especially Pulp fiction. We then looked into British gangsters and create a presentation on what we researched. After that we used all our research to create our own concepts for a gangster movie or series.

Image result for pulp fiction

For the pulp fiction part of this project we first watched the film and then we researched Tarantino’s influences for the film. We then created some questions to ask friends and family about the film from my research I discovered that most hadn’t seen the film and didn’t want to as they thought it would be too violent. I also did some research on the films reviews and compared two of them.

 

The second task was to make a presentation on London gangsters from the past. My group asked our teacher if we could do ours on the peaky blinders. We had to make sure we could as they’re from Liverpool. For the presentation we had to research the gangsters and the time period of their time. We split the jobs of researching between us Charlie took the gangsters, Michaela took the costumes and “props” of the time and i researched the media of the time. Because it was the 1920s there was hardly anything to research as the radio had just begun and there wasn’t much in the case of film. I found what I could and focused mostly on the influential people of the time. Instead of using powerpoint we decided to make a massive poster with all our information on it and some pictures. I think it turned quite well and we worked well together.

img_8874

For our final task we used our information from our research to create a proposal for our own gangster movie. I decided to go for a modern story about a family business. I made sure to add a rough plot, the main characters and some of the costumes. I think I put quite a bit of information into my proposal but I think it would’ve been better if I added a video of some shots that I liked. I tried to make one but had an issue finding enough clips as gambling was a big thing for my idea and the college wifi wouldn’t let me view many videos.

Overall I enjoyed this task and found it very informative.

Leave a comment